BJ Norris’ Blog

Your Source for Shooting News & Tips

Swearing In

August 3rd 2009 will always be a day I remember. Not only is it the 5 year anniversary of when my wife and I started dating, it is the day I took an oath to defend the country from all enemies, foreign and domestic as a member of the United States Army as 11X, option 04 (not AMU). There are a lot of factors in my decision to serve, most of them stemming from the fact that we are able to live in a country after less than 250 years of being where our rights to speak out, defend ourselves and a have fair trial by the justice system are recognized, has the most advanced technology, and the best overall living conditions of the world, and to keep it that way, it must be defended. The only downside is that I won’t have a lot of time to compete over the next few years, but I am confident that it will be well worth the time off of the shooting circuit. I ship out to OSUT on 10/28/09 at Ft. Benning as an 11X, and I will begin Airborne training on 3/1/10, also planning on putting in for RIP as soon as I can.

I also want to again thank of all my sponsors for their incredible support over the past several years in my shooting career, and their support in this decision.

Smith & Wesson

Tony Cruz/XTC

Aimpoint

Tactical Solutions

Montana Gold Bullets

Starline Brass

Safariland

Techwear USA

GT Targets

Rudy Project USA

Grams Engineering

Speed Shooting Specialties

Wish me luck!!

August 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Wow, this is big news! Congratulations and good luck!
    What exactly does 11x, option 4 mean?

    Good for you for stepping forward and serving.
    We’ll miss you in the Tyler area for sure.
    And congrats on another Steel Master Title.

    Comment by Albert Capizzo | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. BJ, I met you at Ohio 4-H camp. You are a wonderful example of a true American. God bless you in this net endevor.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Briski | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey BJ first of all congrads on a big Steel win!!! We’ve talked about you joining the Army and I am as proud as I can be that a man like you has decided to serve his country.

    God Bless…Evan

    Comment by Evan Stanley | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Retirement In Place? 🙂

    Comment by Will Brown | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. Good luck, BJ! Airborne!

    Comment by Caleb | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. BJ, Thank you for your service and best of luck!

    Comment by Daniel C. | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. God bless and stay safe.

    Comment by Gary Taylor | September 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

