BJ Norris’ Blog

Your Source for Shooting News & Tips

Texas State Carbine Championship

Hey guys,

Sorry it took so long for the update, been real busy trying to get things for this year lined up.

Anyway, the Texas State Carbine Championship was the first rifle match I’ve shot, and I had a great time. Lucie and I drove down to Corpus on Saturday night and woke up early to get to the range in time for registration.

Even though the match was open squadding, I linked up with my good friend Jerry Miculek and his brother Donnie to try and gain from their experience with rifles. The first stage we shot had the longest ranges in the match with 5 flashers at about 100 yards and 5 positions to shoot from, which took standing, kneeling and prone to get to all of them. I did pretty well and went into the rest of the match on a positive note. On the next stage, I learned that interaction with walls when shooting a rifle is A LOT different than when shooting a pistol, and all the ports were cut a few inches too high for me to have a comfortable stance, and I ended up shooting the bottom out of several ports over the day, not realizing that the bore was still below the wall when I had a clear sight picture. Even though the stage designers didn’t have a lot of room to make long ranges a factor, the IDPA targets and scoring put a twist on what would normally be very fast stages, forcing everybody to slow down and get good hits on target.

All in all, I shoot pretty decent for my first time out, and plan on trying to make some other rifle or 3 gun matches this year if I can swing it and get the equipment together. I’ll be back to the TSCC 2011 if they have one, but I would make the suggestion to move away from open squadding to a traditional assigned squad matrix, just to cut down on situations like what happened on stage 4, where about 30% of the shooters were on the stage at one time.

February 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

