BJ Norris’ Blog

Your Source for Shooting News & Tips

Getting Ready for Single Stack Nationals

We’re fast closing in on the USPSA Single Stack Nationals held in Barry, IL at PASA Park. I’m real excited to be going back, as it was one of the most fun matches I shot all last season. I will again be shooting my S&W 1911DK in 38 Super with 10 rounds. I spent some time getting the kinks worked out of my magazines, and everything is running great now. Since this is such a unique match, it takes some special prep to make sure your sharp on the right skill set, so that’s what I’ll try and talk mostly about right now.

Since I’m shooting minor, the top of my list is to make sure I’m shooting as many A’s as possible. While I love the way the gun shoots, and shoot better with it than a major PF gun, things can get away from you pretty quickly if you drop more than 2 or 3 Charlies per stage. So, to help with that aspect I train on mid-range targets with some no-shoots and hardcover thrown in, that way I have to slow down to focus on the sights and get good hits.

Next thing on the list is something for all single stack shooters, reloads. The best way to train for this is simply try and dry-fire for about 15 minutes a night. Make sure to watch your sight alignment and trigger control to make sure you don’t get lazy on your fundamental skills while you’re working on something else.

The next thing is that it’s almost assured that there will be a standards course, so it’s important to brush up on your strong hand and weak hand only. You will almost always learn something about your equipment when you shoot one-handed, be it sharp points on your frame that pinch you in strange ways, something about the way your ammo recoils, etc.  Today, I learned that while I shoot well with a long trigger free-style, it’s very difficult for me to shoot that same trigger length weak-handed, and I’ll be swapping out to a short trigger before I head out to Barry.

All on all, I really enjoy shooting the single stacks heads-up, and the best shooter coming out on top. After this though, it’s on to my marathon trip with 3 matches, 3 sports with 5 different guns coming up at the end of May/early June.

April 18, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I’d be interested to know what your .38 super Minor load is…

    Comment by RM | April 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Hello,

      My current load is 5 grains of Hodgdon HP38 under a 124 Gr Montana Gold JHP with Starline cases.

      Comment by bjnorris | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Can you comment on why you’re shooting Super rather than 9mm
    for Single Stack?

    Comment by Albert Capizzo | April 24, 2010 | Reply

    • Al,

      It really boils down to the mags. The 38 Super mags I have are a little better suited to this match than the 9MM mags. I’ll try and go a little more in-depth while I’m on the road and post it tomorrow night.

      Comment by bjnorris | April 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

