BJ Norris’ Blog

Your Source for Shooting News & Tips

38 Super vs. 9MM for Single Stack

Lately, I’ve had several people ask me why I’m shooting 38 Super instead of the 9MM Pro Series, so I decided to go ahead and write a post solely about it.

The main reason I’m shooting my 38 Super instead of my 9MM Pro Series is because I have proven the magazines for my 38 Super are better suited for a USPSA type match than the 9MM magazines I have, without being tuned. Normally, I tune all my equipment over the winter in preparation for the coming year, but since I was at Ft. Benning this past winter, I did not get a chance to do so. Therefore, I did not have the opportunity to fine tune my 9MM to the setup that works for me.

While the 9MM magazines are very reliable, they are hard to seat with 10 rounds loaded using the magwell I prefer, whereas the 38 Super magazines can seat very easily with the same magwell. I believe the 9MM magazines can be tuned to work with the magwell I have, but like I said, I did not have the chance before the match to do so.

Also, my 9MM Pro Series did not have the adjustable sights that my 38 Super already had on it. If I had decided to use the 9MM, I would have had to work on the sight alignment as well as the magazines.

Overall I decided to go with a proven setup given the time table I have had to work with. It worked well for me last year, and I expect to get similar, if not better results this year.

I know Julie Golob has had very good results using her 9MM Pro Series and eventually, I hope to get mine set up properly for use in future matches.

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

