BJ Norris’ Blog

Your Source for Shooting News & Tips

Single Stack, Day 1

Day 1 of the Fri/Sat shooters Single Stack Nationals is in the bag. We started about an hour early, and were able to shoot all of the stages that we were scheduled to shoot today, and were walking down the hill when the rain started. The weather is supposed to blow through tonight with good weather tomorrow.

Overall, I had a pretty good day, a few issues with my trigger job, but a quick adjustment got that fixed and I was back in action.  I had one miss on a head shot on Stage 5, but overall I don’t feel it will hurt me that bad. The two speed shoots, stages 6 & 7 were extremely tough stages, even more so for minor pf shooters. No-shoot covered targets at over 10 yards shooting strong hand and weak hand will make sure you’re aiming hard. I think those two stages probably cost me more than the miss, but with such a high risk factor associated with going for A-zone hits, it would been extremely likely to clip a no-shoot, which would have cost a lot more points.

According to the results posted on USPSA Todd J is winning by about 10 points over Rob and Phil is a few point back from Rob. Looks like Taran is shooting well, and it looks like I’m about 40 points back from Todd (I’m in the squad behind Rob, Phil and Todd, while Taran, Ted and Manny are in the squad behind me).

That’s it for right now, tomorrow will be interesting to see how things play out.

April 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. […] Norris posted an update on the Single Stack Nationals on his blog last night. He has Todd ahead at the […]

    Pingback by BJ Norris Update from Single Stack | Down Range TV | May 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great job at the Single Stack Nationals. I’ve been watching your shooting for the last couple of years and I look forward to seeing you shoot at the Bianchi Cup as well as many others. I’ll just be there to watch this year, since it’s in my home state of Missouri, but hopefully will get the opportunity to shoot along side you at a match someday. Sorry to hear about your back problems that took you out of the Army, I know how much you were looking forward to that. Keep the faith and sights in the A.

    Comment by Christopher Laffoon | May 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] Norris posted an update on the Single Stack Nationals on his blog last night. He has Todd ahead at the […]

    Pingback by Gun Club | Media | BJ Norris Update from Single Stack | June 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

